October 2020 News


Kenneth R. Erving passed away September 18, 2020

DATE: October 16, 2020

Retiree Brother Kenneth R. Erving passed away on Sept 18th 2020


Celebration of Life will be held on Saturday Nov 14th @

Rock of Gibraltar Post 4230

35427 W. Jefferson Ave.

Rockwood MI 48173


Military Honors at 2pm

Dinner severed at 3pm

DATE: September 15, 2020
SUBJECT: Endorsement List Statewide General Election 

Endorsement List

Michigan Building and Construction Trades Council

for the Nov. 3, 2020 Statewide General Election

updated 9.15.20

(Candidates' hometowns or nearest large community are in parenthesis)


U.S. Senator

Gary Peters


U.S. Congress

District 1 (Negaunee): Dana Ferguson

District 3 (Grand Rapids) Hillary Scholten

District 5 (Flint): Daniel Kildee

District 7 (Ann Arbor): Gretchen Driskell

District 8 (Holly) Elissa Slotkin

District 9 (Bloomfield Twp.): Andy Levin

District 11 (Birmingham): Haley Stevens

District 12 (Dearborn): Debbie Dingell

District 14 (Southfield): Brenda Lawrence


Michigan State University Board of Trustees: Brian Mossalam

University of Michigan Board of Trustees: Mark Bernstein, Shauna Ryder Diggs


State Representative

District 2 (Detroit): Joe Tate

District 4 (Hamtramck): Abraham Aiyash

District 10 (Detroit): Kevin Harris

District 19 (Livonia): Laurie Pohutsky

District 20 (Plymouth): Matt Koleszar

District 21 (Canton): Ranjeev Puri

District 22 (Roseville): Richard Steenland

District 25 (Sterling Hts.): Nate Shannon

District 29 (Pontiac): Brenda Carter

District 31 (Clinton Twp.): Bill Sowerby

District 34 (Flint): Cynthia Neely

District 37 (Farmington Hills): Samantha Steckloff

District 38 (Novi): Kelly Breen

District 39 (Commerce): Julia Pulver

District 40 (Birmingham) Mari Manoogian

District 43 (Clarkston): Nicole Breadon

District 44 (Milford): Denise Forrest

District 45 (Rochester): Brendan Johnson

District 46 (Oxford): Jody Lamacchia

District 49 (Flint): John Cherry

District 50 (Burton): Tim Sneller

District 52 (Ann Arbor) Donna Lasinski

District 54 (Ypsilanti): Ronnie Dean Peterson

District 55 (Ann Arbor) Felicia Brabec

District 60 (Kalamazoo): Julie Rogers

District 61 (Kalamazoo): Christine Morse

District 62 (Battle Creek): Jim Haadsma

District 78 (Niles): Dan VendenHeede

District 95 (Saginaw): Amos O'Neal

District 96 (Bay City): Brian Elder

District 104 (Traverse City): Dan O'Neil

District 108 (Escanaba): Renee Richer

District 109 (Marquette): Sara Cambensy


Macomb County

Sheriff: Anthony Wickersham

Clerk/Register of Deeds: Fred Miller

Treasurer: Lorie Barnwell

Macomb County Probate Judge: Kathryn A. George


Board of Commissioners

District 3: (Eastpointe): Veronica Klinefelt

District 4 (Sterling Hts.): Carole Chi

District 5 (Sterling Hts.): Robert Mijac

District 10 (Harrison Twp.): Robert Leonetti

District 11 (Roseville): Harold Haugh

District 12 (Clinton Twp.): Julie Matuzak


Macomb Community College Trustee: Maria Mijac, Sarah Gieleghem


Clinton Twp.

Treasurer: Paul Gieleghem

Trustee: Laura Cardamone, Mike Keys, Tammy Patton


Chesterfield Twp. Board of Trustees: Linda Hartman

Chesterfield Twp. Clerk: Wendy Jones


Wayne County

Prosecutor: Kym Worthy

Sheriff: Benny Napoleon

Treasurer: Eric Sabree


Board of Commissioners

District 4 (Lincoln Park): Ilona Varga

District 5 (Detroit): Irma Clark-Coleman

District 8 (Dearborn Hts.): David Knezek

District 10 (Plymouth): Melissa Daub

District 11 (Wayne): Al Haidous

District 12 (Westland): Glenn Anderson

District 15 (Grosse Ile): Joseph Palamara


Wayne County Circuit Court Judge: Nicholas John Hathaway,

3rd Circuit Judge: Edward Joseph


District Court Judge

District 28 (Southgate): John Graziani

District 31 (Hamtramck): Alexis Krot

District 32A (Harper Woods): Daniel S. Palmer

District 34 (Van Buren Twp.): Lisa Martin

District 38: (Eastpointe): Michael Klinefelt

District 45 (Oak Park): Jaimie Powell Horowitz


Schoolcraft College Board of Trustees: Brian Broderick, Joan Gephardt,Terry Gilligan


Canton Twp.

Supervisor: Ann Marie Graham-Hudak

Treasurer: Dian Slavens

City Clerk: Michael Siegrist

Trustee: Kate Borninski, Sommer Foster, Steve Sneideman


Detroit Board of Education

Trustee: Sherry Gay Dagnogo


Huron Twp.

Supervisor: Kelly Trombley


Livonia Board of Education

Trustee: Dan Centers


Redford Twp.

Supervisor: Pat McRae

Treasurer: Lily Cavanagh

Trustee: Elizabeth Kangas


Plymouth Twp.

Supervisor: Mary Starr


Van Buren Twp.

Trustee: Kevin Martin


Oakland County

Supervisor: Dave Coulter

Prosecutor: Karen McDonald

Sheriff: Michael Bouchard

Treasurer: Robert Wittenberg

6th Circuit Judge (non-incumbent): Lorie Savin


Board of Commissioners

District 2 (Highland): James Williams

District 5 (Waterford Twp.): Kristen Nelson

District 6 (White Lake Twp.): Jeffrey Long

District 7 (Commerce): Karen Adams

District 9 (Novi): Gwen Markham

District 11 (Troy): Tim Burns

District 12 (Birmingham): Kelly Dillaha

District 13 (Farmington Hills): Marcia Gershenson

District 14 (Farmington): William Miller

District 16 (Clawson): Penny Luebs

District 17 (Lathrup Village): Mykale Garrett

District 18 (Ferndale): Charlie Cavell

District 19 (Royal Oak): Dave Woodward

District 20 (Madison Hts.): Gary McGillivary

District 21 (Southfield) Janet Jackson


43rd District Court Judge (Madison Hts.): Brian Hartwell


Royal Oak

Board of Education Trustee: Tim Ciechorski


Milford Twp.

Supervisor: Don Green


Waterford Twp.

Supervisor: John Paul Torres

Treasurer: Eric Lindemier

Clerk: Justin Clark

Trustee: Matt McClure, Mary Craite, Jason Herr, Cynthia Atiemo


St. Clair County

City of St. Clair

City Council

3rd Ward: William Lieman


FROM: Terry A. Gilligan, Business Manager
DATE: September 02, 2020
SUBJECT: Financial Update

Brothers and Sisters,


I hope you are all safe and healthy as we navigate our way through this COVID-19 pandemic.

I would like to take a few minutes of your time to bring you all up to speed on the latest information down here at the Union Hall.

On August 26th the Financial Trustees (Pete Dunn, Arie Moskovitz, and Ozzie Munoz) met with Our Accountant along with Financial Secretary Treasurer Steve Spurlock and bookkeeper Nina Volk to review and discuss the 2019 Financial Report. The Trustees were satisfied with the report and copies were sent out to all of the members. The Financial Report will still be presented and discussed at the next Union Meeting as soon as we are allowed to resume in person Union Meetings.

We have been conducting Trust Fund Meetings virtually and here are the latest financials of those meetings:

The latest Insurance Fund meeting was held virtually on Tuesday August 25th. As of June 30, 2020 the Active member Insurance fund has a 13.4 million dollar balance which equates to 7.3 months in reserve for that fund. The Retiree’s Insurance fund has an 8.2 million dollar balance which equates to 10.2 months in reserve for that fund. All active members should have received a notification in the mail informing you that we now have an online doctor visit option available through MD Live. If you have any questions about this new feature please contact Benesys at 248-641-4936


The latest Pension Fund meeting was also held virtually on August 4th. As of June 30, 2020 the Defined Benefit pension Fund has a balance of $356,865,995. Broken down between the two DB Pensions as follows: Legacy DB Pension balance: $308,607,406 Cash Balance DB pension balance: $48,258,589 The DC pension has a balance of $217,723,821.

The SUB fund balance as of June 30, 2020 is: $9,474,055

I wish you all a safe and happy Labor Day Holiday. Work safe and stay safe.

Fraternally yours,


Terry Gilligan

Business Manager

30100 Northwestern Highway. Farmington Hills, Michigan 48334. USA